Photography: Archiving Your Work

Note: This article is from Jesse Wiseman Hull’s website, now archived here.

Friday, October 12th, 2007

Artists today must be multi-talented, to say the least. As a ceramic arts student, I thought that while I was in school, all I needed to focus on was clay/glaze chemistry and making ceramic forms. But unless you have an unlimited budget to “hire out” to professionals, you have to be part artist, potter, chemist, photographer/graphic designer, accountant, promoter, writer/editor, electrician, gas technician… the list could go on and on.

I can’t stress the importance of archiving your work through imagery. I document most of my tests and kiln firings in the same way and include those images in my notes.
Having said that, of all the learned skills listed above, photography is one of the most frustrating tasks I’ve taken on.
What works for one person, won’t work for another… heck, what works for one pot won’t work for another! But here’s some information that may help.

The Camera:

Choose a camera that suits your needs. There’s no use spending $900-$3000 on a camera, if you’re not going to use half the settings available.
I went with a digital format. I can remember just 7 or 8 years ago, I was still having to deal with slides when sending info to galleries, publications, etc. Now most accept, and even prefer, high quality digital imagery supplied on a disk. It’s easy to store and it usually doesn’t need to be returned.
My camera is considered a standard “point and shoot” model. The features I was drawn to were:
8.3 megapixel CCD,
4X digital zoom/10X optical zoom,
2-1/2″ LCD screen (the bigger the better)
Manual exposure controls: ISO adjust for shutter speed / aperture combinations.